my ego is bare // tmi tuesday #11

Thank you to Virtual Sin for this week’s TMI Tuesday.

You are having dinner at the best restaurant you can imagine. Do not concern yourself with over-eating, or other restrictions. We want to know what you like best. What will you have for:

1. Before dinner wine, aperitif, or cocktail?

The usual: a Midori sour. As I age my genetic allergy to alcohol becomes more and more apparent; now I can barely drink a glass of wine during a meal. I had champagne at a Mother’s Day dinner and barely finished it. Midori and amaretto are about all I can handle these days, and only then when mixed with something else.

2: Appetizer?

This is a fancy restaurant, right? So no mozzarella sticks… I guess I’ll have to go with either calamari or a baked brie.

3. Soup?

Tomato or lobster bisque. Although to be fair I’m not much of a fan of soup, so I could probably do without this. I also don’t know many kinds of fancy soup.

4. Salad?

One of those fancy “summer” salads with candied walnuts, dried fruit, mandarin oranges, avocado, grilled chicken, a citrus dressing, etc.

5. Wine or other beverage with dinner?

I’d probably have to stick to water. Soda doesn’t seem very fancy at all, and champagne and wine would probably just be wasted on me. If I’m not paying, I’ll take a glass of a nice cab sauv. And just one, thanks. No white wine for me.

6. Entree?

Steak. Mmmmm steak. Maybe steak and lobster. Surf and turf!

7. Side Dishes?

Sweet potato, salad, green beans, grilled vegetables, homestyle potatoes. Now I’m just thinking about the dinner I had at Ruth’s Chris once.

8. Dessert?

Pecan pie, if we can swing it. If not, creme brulee or sorbet.

9. After dinner drink?

Maybe a coffee with some Bailey’s or amaretto, maybe a dessert wine. Or maybe just a lot of water, I’d probably need it after that meal.

10. Which 3 people would you invite to dinner: (must be famous, well-known, living or dead, not fictional)

– For sex appeal

Benedict Cumberbatch, Chris Evans, Matt Bomer, Katharine Hepburn, Audrey Hepburn, Jimmy Stewart (take your pick)

– For great conversation

Stephen Colbert, Jon Stewart, Joss Whedon (again, take your pick). Apparently I don’t know any dead people that were also good conversationalists.

– Because you detest them

… Why would I invite some famous person I detest to dinner? Ummmm… M. Night Shyamalan, so I could throw a glass of water in his face for The Last Airbender fiasco. I demand Asian actors in Asian roles, dammit!

Unfortunately, I’m not really a fancy and sophisticated person with nice tastes. My family didn’t have a lot of money while I was growing up so eating out at even a “regular” place was pretty special. Even for special occasions like weddings or graduations we were trying to feed too many people to have fancy food. We’re not really a fancy restaurant family; we’re more taco trucks and Chinese-food-is-only-good-when-the-health-department-hates-the-restaurant people. And trust me, you don’t make much money as a graduate student, not nearly enough to acquire fancy eating habits.

Bonus: Your lover brings you breakfast in bed. What’s on the tray?

I suppose he wouldn’t fit on the tray, would he?

Hmmm… fresh fruit (preferably honeydew or pineapple), eggs (scrambled, with onions and mushrooms), sausage (the fancy breakfast links), and hot chocolate. And orange juice.

And something sweet and sticky, because I know what I would want to lick up and where I want to lick it from after breakfast.

Finally, come play with me and my partner! (He’s still sick, and in no mind to answer questions, so I get more time to think of good ones.)

(Image from Saly de Bahia on Tumblr. Click to visit!)

Posted on May 15, 2012, in tmi tuesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Jill isn’t much of a soup fan but really loves tomato bisque. As I’m the seafood lover, I’d go for lobster bisque. Surf and turf was my entree choice as well, and in fact, I thought back to past Ruth’s Chris dinners when planning my ideal meal. We also had trouble understanding why we’d want to dine with someone we detest, but your reason for inviting M. Night was excellent.

Leave a Reply

