when there’s no one else in sight // tmi tuesday #4

Sorry for the delay! Yesterday was spent out all day at the Polynesian Cultural Center – which, by the way, is a great place to visit if you’re ever in Hawai’i. This week’s TMI Tuesday is all about music! However, I have to note that I am not really all that into music, and that my tastes are very eclectic. I’m more inclined to turn my iPod on and turn this into one of those “random shuffle” memes. As it is all the answers will be taken from my iPod… because I can’t think of any other songs besides those.

Also, last year I bought an OhMiBod Freestyle and set up a playlist especially for it, put together by my partner. I’m strongly influenced by it. Like. Really. Not answering questions with those songs was a challenge.

Hmmm… this list does not adequately reflect my love of hip-hop/R&B.

Answer the following questions using only song titles. Make sure you link to the song or the song’s lyrics so that we can listen to or read the song.

1. What is your present state of mind?

Wish You Were Here – Incubus

2. How do you feel about your spouse, significant other, or someone you lust for?

Come on Closer – Jem

3. Describe your job.

That’s All – Genesis

4. What are you hungry for?

Sound of Your Voice – Barenaked Ladies

5. What’s your favorite color?

2 versions, for your enjoyment!

Kiss From a Rose – Angela Aki (1), Seal (2)

6. What gets you excited?

Moves Like Jagger – Maroon 5

7. Who do you think you are?

Fiction – Kajiura Yuki

Bonus: Describe your life. Feel free to elaborate on your song choice.

Shake It Out – Florence + the Machine

This is not really about my whole life (I think my whole life has been more “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” or “Jump” than anything else). But right now, at my age and my point in life, I find myself more and more oriented around love and relationships. I have wondered what this song is about ever since I first heard it last year. Is it about leaving behind a past because you are facing something new and better, or is it about realizing the present is holding you back from the future? Either way, it’s relevant to me. I just haven’t decided how I’m going to interpret it and apply it to my life. I think the general message of leaving failure and hurt behind is also a good reminder for me when it comes to other aspects of my life, such as work, academics, money, and friendship.

And it’s hard to dance with the devil on your back
And given half the chance
Would I take any of it back
It’s a fine romance but it’s left me so undone
It’s always darkest before the dawn

Posted on March 30, 2012, in tmi tuesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

